Happy New Beer – Coopers Dark Ale (AUS)

A plastic schooner is never the best way to drink beer but at Woodford, the ambiance more than makes up for it.
A plastic schooner is never the best vessel to drink beer from but at Woodford, the ambiance more than makes up for it.

And so it begins, my New Year’s resolution, a challenge to review one different beer every day throughout 2014. Yes, you could say that I’ve failed already because we’re on day 3 and this my first post. I would argue that it is very unlikely that I was going to be able to post every single day and at least the pressure is now off  ……. imagine my dismay if I’d made it through to day 361 and then missed a day? Phew!

I’ve got a bit of catching up to do so I’ll crack on. My first beer of the year is Coopers Dark Ale. Imbibed in “Bill’s Bar” at the Woodford Folk Festival, to the tune of Karl S Williams‘ soaring vocals, this warm molasses-coloured ale is surprisingly refreshing on a hot New Year’s Day. Served cold, the flavour develops as it warms. Both bitter and sweet at the same time, this umami ale lingers on the palate with undertones of burnt rubber and freshly laid Tarmac, yum! It travels well over newly brushed teeth. An excellent breakfast brew.

Welcome to the blog and Happy New Beer!

5 thoughts on “Happy New Beer – Coopers Dark Ale (AUS)”

  1. Thanks for taking on this onerous challenge Mike. Someone had to do it and I can think of no one better qualified! Happy New Year and cheers

    1. Dear William, I knew in my heart that only one such as you would understand the challenge ahead …. a bit like doing a Nut Rocker every day for a year, come Hell or high water. Thanks for your empathy.

Leave a Reply

