Beechworth Pale Ale by Bridge Road Brewers (AUS)

Todays brew is Bridge Road Brewers‘ “Beechworth Pale Ale”. I have to admit a fondness for pale ales, in fact it was my predilection for Coopers Pale Ale that led me to this experiment. Every time I went to stock up with the fridge, I’d window-shop beers from around Australia, indeed from around the world. “Ooh that sounds interesting” I’d say to myself, or “how about that one?”. After 20 mins of aimless wondering I’d go back to the trusty Coopers. Now a whole new world has opened up.

Beechworth Pale Ale, the Ned Kelly of the beer world
Beechworth Pale Ale, the Ned Kelly of the beer world

Beechworth in Victoria is famous for many things, including having had Ned Kelly banged up in the local nick for a while. The Bridge Road Brewery is located in a 140 year old coach house and is famed for its craft beers. ‘Twas a Victorian that introduced me to it. This ale has a warm chestnut colour, clouded nicely by the residual yeast. Like most pale ales, the Beechworth variety has plenty of hops. I tasted hints of peach and nectarine, Ambrosia custard, even toffee bon bons and therefore wasn’t surprised to read on the label that at least four different hops were used.  These are “constantly tweaked from season to season”. It maybe worth coming back to try a different vintage.

Another satisfying ale, the Beechworth Pale is the Ned Kelly of Beers, eagerly sought after and once tracked down, you have to go for the whole gang. Such is life.

Ned Kelly in Glenrowan © Mike Greenslade
Ned Kelly in Glenrowan © Mike Greenslade
3 thoughts on “Beechworth Pale Ale by Bridge Road Brewers (AUS)”

  1. The Ned Kelly of beers sounds just up my alley, I may send a slab to the English cricket team to cheer them up. Keep up the good work 365, I understand Coopers Green sales are down 10 percent already !

Leave a Reply

