Kolsch – 4 Pines Brewing Company (AUS)

Just as earlier in the week I didn’t know what the hell a ‘Helles’ was, I didn’t know what a ‘Kolsch’ was until I asked my German friend Bettina. What a journey of discovery this blog is for us all ….. and when I say ‘all’, I mean both of us.

4 Pines Brewing Company Kolsch - easy drinking lager
4 Pines Brewing Company Kolsch – easy drinking lager

A “Kolsch”, so I’m told, is an easy-drinking lager and this effort by the Manly-based, 4 Pines Brewing Company is certainly that. Bright and clear in appearance, it holds a good head and is clean and fresh on the palate. There is a slightly bitter finish which is nice, but otherwise this lager has very few distinguishable characteristics and I was was surprised to learn that it weighs in at 4.6%. Great for hot days and for those people building up to drinking real beer. More from 4 Pines to come.

Musical association football match ……..

If you have 9 minutes 20 seconds to spare, here’s Kolsch featuring Troels Abrahamsen with their deep house track, “All That Matters”. The video didn’t win any awards …..

Leave a Reply

