Monkey’s Fist Pale Ale – Sail & Anchor (AUS)

I’m a little behind in my blogging but not in my tastings, so I’m going to double up on a few occasions. Here’s another nautical knot-themed beer from Fremantle’s Sail & Anchor brewery. A ‘monkeys fist’ is a complex knot that is tied in the end of rope to make a ball, adding weight and making the rope suitable for throwing, usually from one ship to another. My mate, Nathan actually tied one once!

Monkey's Fist Pale Ale - I know, I know, "gorilla's are not monkeys, they're apes'
Monkey’s Fist Pale Ale – I know, I know, “gorilla’s aren’t monkeys, they’re apes’

I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this beer. As a fan of pale ales, I was expecting more from Sail & Anchor. Yes, it’s fruity, yes there’s a bitter finish but something’s missing? It didn’t really pack the punch that it promised …. or has my palate been spoilt by hearty British ale?

Toots and the Maytals …… Monkey Man

 

One thought on “Monkey’s Fist Pale Ale – Sail & Anchor (AUS)”

  1. a can of Carling for me – £10 for 18 cans from this micro brewery. Tastes better than the Black label of old. Please contact Carl Ling – he’s on LinkedIn so he must be lonely – Carl LING, PMP/ITILv3/MBA/NLP Prac. Multi-lingual IT professional w/ X-cultural understanding seeking mid-senior level appointments in HK/SGP/NZ/OZ/CN

Leave a Reply

