‘Minimum Chips’ Golden Lager – Matilda Bay (AUS)

Now I’m a big fan of Matilda Bay, ‘Fat Yak‘ and ‘Redback‘ being two of my favourite Aussie beers, but I found the ‘Minimum Chips’ left me a bit cold. It’s quite fruity on the nose and it’s certainly a lovely golden colour but, like many lagers, it lacks the depth of a real beer.

Minimum Chips , Golden Lager ...... minimum taste
Minimum Chips , Golden Lager …… minimum interest

 

Perhaps I should stay away from lagers for a while. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a bad lager, there’s a malty sweetness to it, balanced with a bitter finish and I imagine, when it’s really cold, it would be a good accompaniment to hot, salty chips. But for now, I leave this one to the seagulls.

Here’s ‘A Flock of Seagulls’ with ‘I Ran’

//www.youtube.com/embed/iIpfWORQWhU” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen></iframe>

2 thoughts on “‘Minimum Chips’ Golden Lager – Matilda Bay (AUS)”

  1. Phal for me tonight, and a nosebleed, but no tears. Hope not be saying I ran… Please buy Bombay Bicycle Clubs new album – So Long See You Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

