Pearlers Pale Ale – Matso’s Brewery (AUS)

This is my second beer from the Broome-based, Matso’s Brewery, the first being the red-hot and refreshing ‘Chilli Beer‘. Now, I really liked the Chilli Beer, with the taste of real red chilli, not just the heat, so I was disappointed to find that Matso’s no longer make it. But something about this ale reminded me of the chilli variety.

Matso's Pearlers Pale Ale - Like Chilli Beer, without the chilli
Matso’s Pearlers Pale Ale – Like Chilli Beer, without the chilli

In fact, it reminded me so much of the Chilli Beer, that I thought I could actually smell chilli on my first sniff. But alas no. As pale ales go, Pearlers is a pale imitation. It lacks the fruit and bitter finish of your average pale, and comes across more like a lager. As a lager, it works quite well though, with the slight hint of bananas that I associate with a good amber brew. Nice label though.

Here’s Pearl Jam with ‘Alive’

Leave a Reply

