Pintail Pale Ale – Karl Strauss Brewing Company (USA)

Another pale ale inspired by surf culture, this beer is named after a style of longboard rather than a species of duck. If anyone knows how to brew an American style pale ale, it’s the Americans. The San Diego based Karl Strauss’s Brewing Company has made an award -winning ale of character and depth.

Pintail Pale Ale - you can ride the nose on this one
Pintail Pale Ale – you can ride the nose on this one

 

I drank this one straight from the bottle so I’m afraid the colour escaped me. ‘Pintail’ has a strong floral hop aroma backed up by a complex flavour of citrus rind, perhaps a hint of sea salt and a dry hoppy finish. I found it the perfect accompaniment to the fresh Ballina rock oysters I had as a prelude to dinner on Saturday night. At 5.3% it’s strong enough to keep you honest and tasty enough to get you back for more. Ride this one all the way to the shore.

Here’s the Beach Boys with ‘God Only Knows’

