Yarra Valley Gold – Grand Ridge Brewery (AUS)

Whilst beer hunting in Maroochydore a couple of weeks ago I came across a Christmas gift pack of 6 ales by the Gippsland-based, Grand Ridge Brewery. At $8.00 for a 6-pack it was too good to be missed, and after tasting their ‘Yarra Valley Gold’, I wish I had stocked up.

Yarra Valley Gold ...... there gold in them there hills
Yarra Valley Gold …… there gold in them there hills

 

(In the interest of fairness, I did try their wheat beer last week, but I’ve decided that wheat beers stick in the craw and my opinions on them are best kept to myself).

But if you want my opinion on this deep amber ale, I’ll happily give it to you. Bottle conditioned, it’s slightly cloudy with tight bubbles. There’s an aroma of toffee-apples and this scent is backed-up in the flavour, deep, rich undertones of toffee, caramel and ANZAC biscuits, enough hops to take the sweet edge off, and a nice smooth finish. Forget wheat beer, go for Gold ……… the perfect winter ale.

Here’s  golden boy, David Bowie with ‘Golden Years’

3 thoughts on “Yarra Valley Gold – Grand Ridge Brewery (AUS)”

  1. I’ve tried saying the first line of this entry out loud and have made myself pissed up. I have a bottle of Brains for later in the week and will be buying 18 x 440 ml cans of Bud for £13 by the end of the week. Also will be stocking up on Davidstow vintage at £5.55 per kg. Keep it local . The Pixies are playing Eden this summer but I’ve seen them already in Miami so will listen instead to some traffic noise.

Leave a Reply

