Glamarama Summer Ale – Sydney Brewery (AUS)

I’d been hoping my recent business trip to Sydney Town would reveal some local craft beer, not available on the North Coast. What I didn’t expect was to come across such a cracker on my first visit to the pub. The Macquarie on Wentworth St happened to be about 100 yards from my hotel and I couldn’t resist stopping off for a schooner on the way home. On a Friday evening, the post-work vibe made for a great atmosphere. I opted for the ‘Glamarama’ Summer Ale, as it was the only draught I hadn’t tried. It turned out to be a great move.

Glamarama Summer Ale ...... unseasonably good beer
Glamarama Summer Ale …… unseasonably good beer

 

It may not be summer but this ale went down a treat after a day driving around in the Sydney traffic. It’s crisp a clean on the palate with a good floral aroma. A truly refreshing brew, it has plenty of fruit, akin to Stone & Wood’s Pacific Ale, with nectarine, rockmelon and a touch of elderflower. I have to say, it didn’t last long and, as the barmaid poured me a second, I found out that it used to be brewed on the premises by the Sydney Brewery. We both felt quite at home.

Aus SRT selection weekend

I look forward to sampling more form the Sydney Brewery. (they can get my address upon application)

Here’s Roxy Music with ‘Pyjamarama’

 

Leave a Reply

