2013 Summer Ale – Endeavour Vintage Beers, Seasonal Series (AUS)

I like the idea of “Vintage Beers” (hell, I’ve just bought a ‘vintage’ house!). I also like the idea of a ‘Seasonal Series” but maybe I should leave the “Summer Ale” until it’s summer? I’m sure this a very refreshing beer when it’s hot and humid but I found it a little lacking on a winters day, when I crave something with a little more depth.

Endeavour Vintage Beers 2013 Summer Ale
Endeavour Vintage Beers 2013 Summer Ale – best left until Summer 2014

 

It certainly pours beautifully and looks great but I found it hard to distinguish any specific aroma ……. other than that of beer. It’s a lovely tasting beer too, with faint undertones of caramel and perhaps dried apricot but nothing really stands out. I prefer a bit more oomph!

It would suit a pasta dish or a good ole chicken caesar. Buy one now perhaps, and lay it down until summer 2014 ………. I’ve got pumpkin ale laid down ready for Halloween, so it can be done.

As part of my seasonal tunes series, here’s the full-flavoured Mark Lanegan and the “The Screaming Trees” with, ‘Shadow of the Season’ …………………

3 thoughts on “2013 Summer Ale – Endeavour Vintage Beers, Seasonal Series (AUS)”

  1. Hard to believe that they actually used those oars on the label for over 150 years before uninventing the hole. Luckily the tale will never be forgotten thanks to Bernard Cribbins. And he will never be forgotten thanks to Right Said Fred. And they will never be forgotten thanks to Duncan Goodhew, who I saw at the Fat Duck. Probably listen to Classix Nouveaux – Guilty, while watching The Crystal Maze, drinking egg nog

Leave a Reply

