Saranac – Pumpkin Ale (USA)

I can’t believe that I’ve had this beer in my “cellar” for months, waiting for Halloween and when it finally comes round, I go and miss it. Par for the course at the moment I’m afraid. Besides, I’ve come to conclusion that Halloween has become just another bullshit excuse to buy crap made my cynical capitalists who probably don’t even believe in ghosts anyway.

Saranac - Pumpkin Ale .... no hops were harmed in the making of this beer
Saranac – Pumpkin Ale …. no hops were harmed in the making of this beer, well maybe a couple

 

In fairness to Saranac, who have been brewing since 1888, this may have sighed a little too long on the shelf but I found it a little lifeless. It’s spicy on the nose the there certainly a hint of Ma’s pumpkin pie on the palate, complete with cinnamon and nutmeg. Unlike other fruit-flavoured ales, like Youngs Banana Bread Beer, this appears to taste too much of pumpkin and not enough of ale. Perhaps I’ll try another, fresher one next Halloween ………. if I remember.

Never been much of a fan of the rather obvious Smashing Pumpkins so here’s Julian Cope with a song that rhymes with Halloween …… Trampoline ……

 

 

Leave a Reply

