Rising Sun Pale Ale – Baird Brewery (JAP)

We’ve tried English Pale Ale; American Pale Ale, Australian, Kiwi and now Japanese. The Japanese used to be famous for taking useful things and making them smaller. In this case the beer remains the same size but the wallet is shrunk dramatically. Call me tight (or as us Cornish like to say, ‘careful’), but I had steered clear of the Rising Sun because of its $8.99 a bottle price tag (cherching, cherching …..). So, rather than pay $159 a case, I waited until it was close to sell by date and picked up a bottle for less than 5 bucks.

Rising Sun Pale Ale ...... it'll transistorise your wallet in minutes!
Rising Sun Pale Ale …… it’ll transistorise your wallet in minutes!

Having said all that, I love the label design, it reminded me of an old Siouxsie and the Banshees t-shirt I used to own. The beer contained within is pretty damned good too. A frosty golden brown, it has a high degree of carbonation with an aroma of unset marmalade. There’s flavours of ripening nectarine and Navel Oranges and the deeper you go, the more fruity it gets. I bow down to the Baird Brewery, Rising Sun is illuminating indeed.

I’d happily pay $8.99 for this in a Melbourne bar but if you ever see me forking out $159 for a case of beer, please take me home …. I’ve obviously had enough!

In honour of my t-shirt, here’s Siouxsie, from the 1980 album ‘Kaleidoscope’ with ‘Red Light’ ……………

Leave a Reply

