4 Pines Brewing Company – Stout (AUS)

Billed as the ‘the world’s first certified Space Beer’, I was looking forward to putting my feet up in front of the fire and trying Manly-based, 4 Pines‘ handcrafted stout, to boldly go, etc.

Image of a bottle of 4 Pines stout in front of a roaring fire.
Space Beer ……. it’s stout Jim, but not as we know it

 

Well it certainly looks like a stout when poured into a glass, ebony black with a frothy nicotine head. It smells like a stout when lifted to the nose, slightly sweet with hints of molasses and burnt rubber. I was therefore slightly disappointed to find the taste somewhat underwhelming. A little too sweet for my liking and lacking in body. I like to drink my stouts with a knife and fork whereas this would be better suited to a spoon. There are hints of coffee and chocolate but ultimately there just too much ……………. well, space.

Here’s Spizz Energi with, “Where’s Captain Kirk?”

 

 

2 thoughts on “4 Pines Brewing Company – Stout (AUS)”

  1. 4 Pines are in a pub and one goes to the bar to get the round in. The barman asks what his name is and he says “It’s Bruce”
    I’m putting that one alongside my jojabas witnesses joke in my “favourite jokes that I have made up” book that will be available next year. Tonight i’m having fried spaghetti with bits of egg and beans (reheated pasta is the healthiest don’t you know?). For some music pleasure listen to Brian Eno – The Paw Paw Negro Blowtorch.

Leave a Reply

